Small Wonders

Zacc Harris Group


Zacc Harris – guitar / compositions

Brandon Wozniak – saxophone

John Raymond – trumpet

Bryan Nichols – piano

JT Bates – drums

Chris Bates – bass

All About Jazz Review by MARK CORROTO
September 16, 2021

There is a theme of currents to the music of Small Wonders, although it is not stated in the titles. Minneapolis guitarist Zacc Harris pours the music from this album into your ears, metaphorically speaking. At times it is a cascade, in other places just a trickle. Either way, listeners are encouraged to float along, and going with the flow is a natural reaction to this music. Small Wonders is the second release by the Zacc Harris Group, following The Garden (Shifting Paradigm Records, 2012). Harris maintains the same lineup, plus the addition of tenor saxophonist Brandon Wozniak, a partner from the Atlantis Quartet.

Opening with the rumbling thunder of “Ominous Skies,” the full sextet rushes into the theme before pausing for brief solos by first Wozniak, then Harris, trumpeter John Raymond, and drummer JT Bates. The flow is dynamic, one only available to a tight working unit. The compositions, all by Harris, are diverse. He works a waltz “Glass Houses” to great effect with the rhythm section levitating his solo and those of Raymond and Wozniak. The ease with which this group navigates and their interplay is magical. That theme of currents is evident in the efficient briskness of “A Beautiful Life” and the New Orleans shuffle of “Apple Jacks” which was inspired by the percussive penchants of Ahmad Jamal. Harris’ notes indicate that this band is inspired by Miles Davis’ second great quintet. That is most evident with the turbulence of “The Void,” a solid burner which must be a favorite in live performance. Ending with the beautiful “Maya Song,” dedicated to his daughter, the current slows but nonetheless still continues the floating undercurrents of Harris.


Recorded August 1-3, 2019 at Rocketsnake Studios, Arden Hills, MN
Engineered & Mixed by Dylan Nau
Mastered by Greg Reierson of Rare Form Mastering
Produced by Zacc Harris

Design by Jamie Breiwick of B-Side Graphics
Cover Photo by Zacc Harris
Artist Photo by Nate Ryan

Released September 17, 2021

Track List

Ominous Skies


Glass Houses

Civil Dawn

A Beautiful Life

The Void

Mixed Signals

Apple Jacks

Maya Song

More Recordings
Joyann Parker ROOTS
Weights and Measures
Holden’s House Party
Live at Icehouse
Live at Icehouse 9/25/17
Cognitive Dissonance
Taller Tales CD cover
Taller Tales
Inventions & Dimensions Wabi Sabi - Chris Bates
Wabi Sabi
New Hope
Chris Bates Good Vibes Trio
Grease Gun
Grease Gun
Michael Rossetto Intermodal Blues
Intermodal Blues
Hello Human
X by Atlantis Quartet
RED P BILL cover
Red Planet
Laura Caviani Trio (feat. Chris Bates & Dave Schmalenberger) - confluence
Big Alpaca
Leisure Valley Jazz Quartet
Welcome to the Valley
Tall Tales
Atlantis Quartet - Expansion CD cover
Space Dust